Pic credit: Shutterstock

5 Niyamas in Yoga: Ethical Principles for a Balanced Life

This Niyama focuses on cleanliness and purity, both externally by maintaining a clean environment and internally by purifying thoughts and emotions.

Saucha (Cleanliness)

Pic Credit: Shutterstock

Santosha is the practice of contentment, finding inner peace and satisfaction in the present moment without craving for external desires.

Santosha (contentment) 

Pic Credit: Shutterstock

This Niyama represents self-discipline and inner fire, involving the dedication to self-improvement and perseverance in the face of challenges.

Tapas (discipline) 

Pic Credit: Shutterstock

Svadhyaya entails self-study and introspection, encouraging the exploration of one's inner self through various means such as studying sacred texts and reflecting on personal experiences.

Svadhyaya (self study)

Pic Credit: Shutterstock

The final Niyama emphasizes surrendering to a higher power or divine source, acknowledging that there are forces beyond our control and cultivating trust and faith in the universe.

Isvara Pranidhana(Surrendering to a Higher Power)

Pic Credit: Shutterstock